The Steering Committee is responsible for the implementation of the research programme – from project selection to scientific quality assurance and knowledge transfer.

The President of the Steering Committee and the Programme Managers are responsible for the operational management. The Head of Knowledge Transfer is responsible for engagement with stakeholders, identification of implementation options and supporting project teams in transdisciplinary research aspects. The representatives of the federal government work with the Steering Committee and forward the findings within the administration.

The SNSF National Research Council is ultimately responsible for the NRP. The delegate of the Research Council acts as a link between the Research Council and the Steering Committee.

President of the steering committee

  • John Pannell, Professor of Plant Evolution, Department of Ecology and Evolution, University of Lausanne, Switzerland

Members of the steering committee

  • Philipp Aerni, Professor of Sustainability and Impact Entrepreneurship, School of Management, University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Western Switzerland
  • Christine Clavien, Professor of Ethics, Institute of Ethics, History and the Humanities,
  • University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Simone Dietrich, Professor in Political Science and International Relations, Geneva School of Social Sciences, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Jane Langdale, Professor of Plant Development, Department of Biology, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Laurence Moreau, Research Director, Quantitative Genetics and Evolution, Institut national de recherche pour l’agriculture, l’alimentation et l’environnement (INRAE), France
  • Roland Norer, Professor of Public and Rural Law, Faculty of Law, University of Lucerne, Switzerland
  • Roland Peter, Head of Research Division Plant Breeding, Agroscope, Switzerland
  • Wim Verbeke, Professor of Agro-food Marketing and Consumer Behaviour, Department of Agricultural Economics, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Bettina Ernst, Biotech entrepreneur (innovation expert), Preclin Biosystems, Switzerland

Representatives of the Federal Government

  • Bettina Hitzfeld, Head of Division Soil and Biotechnology, Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
  • Teresa Koller, Department Sustainable Plant Protection and Varieties, Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
  • Patrizia Le Donne, Division Knowledge Foundation, Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO

SNSF Research Council Delegate

  • Mira Burri, Professor of International Economic and Internet Law, Faculty of Law, University of Lucerne, Switzerland

Programme Managers

  • Martin Christen, Swiss National Science Foundation, Bern, Switzerland
  • Marjory Hunt, Swiss National Science Foundation, Bern, Switzerland