Steering Committee of NRP 84 "Plant Breeding Innovation" elected

© Privatfoto John Pannell

The Research Council has elected the Steering Committee of international experts who are responsible for the implementation of NRP 84.

The NRP 84 Steering Commmittee is composed of experts from Switzerland and abroad. It represents the various thematic areas of NRP 84 and is chaired by Professor John Pannell of the University of Lausanne:

  • Dr. John Pannell, Professor of Plant Evolution, Department of Ecology and Evolution, University of Lausanne, Switzerland (President)
  • Dr. Philipp Aerni, Professor of Sustainability and Impact Entrepreneurship, School of Management, University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Western Switzerland
  • Dr. Christine Clavien, Professor of Ethics, Institute of Ethics, History and the Humanities, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Dr. Simone Dietrich, Professor in Political Science and International Relations, Geneva School of Social Sciences, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Dr. Jane Langdale, Professor of Plant Development, Department of Biology, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Dr. Laurence Moreau, Research Director, Quantitative Genetics and Evolution, Institut national de recherche pour l’agriculture, l’alimentation et l’environnement (INRAE), France
  • Dr. Roland Norer, Professor of Public and Rural Law, Faculty of Law, University of Lucerne, Switzerland
  • Dr. Roland Peter, Head of Research Division Plant Breeding, Agroscope, Switzerland
  • Dr. Wim Verbeke, Professor of Agro-food Marketing and Consumer Behaviour, Department of Agricultural Economics, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Dr. Bettina Ernst, Biotech entrepreneur (Innovation expert), Preclin Biosystems, Switzerland

The members of the Steering Committee cover the various academic disciplines and represent relevant societal actors of NRP 84 and are charged, in particular, with selecting the research projects and providing scientific and implementation support. Dr. Bettina Hitzfeld from the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), Dr. Teresa Koller from the Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG), and Ms. Patrizia Le Donne from the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO), represent the Federal government in the Steering Committee and play a key role in knowledge transfer to the administration.